Review day…metaphors

Over the past two weeks I think our weakness is understanding metaphors, so today we’ll work on that. 

For example, explain the metaphor in this recent popular commercial.

Or the metaphor of A Poison Tree:

A Poison Tree

 by William Blake

I was angry with my friend.

I told my wrath, my wrath did end.

I was angry with my foe.

I told it not, my wrath did grow;

 

And I water’d it in fears,

Night and morning with my tears;

And I sunned it with smiles,

And with soft deceitful wiles;

 

And it grew both day and night

Till it bore an apple bright,

And my foe beheld it shine,

And he knew that it was mine,

 

And into my garden stole

When the night had veil’d the pole.

In the morning glad I see

My foe outstretched beneath the tree.

In the above examples the baby is a metaphor for a car and the tree is a metaphor for revenge. 

If we have some time we’ll try to write a sestina poem towards the ends of class.

This is not mandatory, but I thought it would be a fun way to finish up the class before our final review:

How to write a sestina…

 

  • · 1 Consider the subject matter that you wish to write about. Think about words related to your subject that you could use several times throughout your poem.
  • 2 Write your first stanza (and those that follow) using iambic pentameter (if you can, otherwise free verse is fine). The words that end each line in this stanza (identified as 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6) will determine the words that end every stanza in your sestina.

 

  • 3 Add a second stanza using those words in a 6, 1, 5, 2, 4, 3 order. If you do this correctly, the word used to end the first line of this stanza should be the same one you used in the sixth line of the previous stanza. The second should match the first, and so on.

 

  • 4 Write a third stanza using a 3, 6, 4, 1, 2, 5 pattern, followed by a fourth stanza with a 5, 3, 2, 6, 1, 4 pattern. Stanza five should use a 4, 5, 1, 3, 6, 2 pattern, and stanza six should employ a 2, 4, 6, 5, 3, 1 pattern.

 

  • 5 Draft a seventh stanza that is three lines in length, using all six ending words in the following places. Your ending words used in the second, fourth and sixth lines must be used halfway through the lines of this stanza. The fifth, third and first ending words of the first stanza are used to end the lines of this stanza, in that order.
Standard

Leave a Reply

